In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before.Some people say anageing population creates problemsfor governments.Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancements in medical science, the life span of human beings has increased in many developed nations. Although the long and healthy life of people is considered a symbol of a successful society, some folks consider the elderly population a burden on the country.They may be right to some extent but the death of citizens at a younger age is not at all a positive indicator for any nation-state. Having a prolonged disease-free survival is a dream of every individual.Many countries have transformed this dream into reality by investing heavily in the health sector.If a person knows that he has the potential to survive to old age, he can plan his future accordingly. For example, my uncle who is fit at the age of 70 years after having done two jobs is now considering spending time with grandchildren. Moreover, an increased number of healthy older residents in a society can contribute towards a national cause. For instance, most retired persons remain on the reservist list in many armies and are called for active service during times of war.These disease-free persons can be helpful in many aspects like working as a part of think tanks, giving voluntary service for literary activities and making plans by sharing their own battle experience. However, there is always another side of the coin. The more the ailing population in a country, the more the government will have to spend on them for welfare.As an example, in Pakistan, the employees after retirement get a huge sum of pension which is doubled at the age of seventy-five years and often the benefits are given to the families of the deceased.All these expenses are borne by the government which puts more pressure on the earning lot by applying greater tax. In addition, many of these sick individuals are dependent on family members for their physical needs. This means more members of a community are unavailable for active jobs as they are bound to look after debilitated patients. To summarize, getting an illness-free advanced age is a blessing for residents who may contribute to nation-building. Overall the merits of increased age outweigh a few of its demerits.