Car drivers and cyclists share the same road, and this causes problems for both of them. Why is this case? What are the measures to solve these problems?

Driving is not uncommon as drivers enjoy the convenience, while some prefer cycling for health and environmental reasons. Some people question that sharing roads by drivers and cyclists can lead to drawbacks to both parties. This essay will discuss the inducing causes and measures to solve these problems. Among all the causes, probably the most significant one is that there is no consensus on the traffic use by vehicle drivers and cyclists. The major reason is that there is a gap between the speeds of vehicles and bicycles. In metropolitan cities, people focus on effectiveness and they expect they can save time by driving. They will have to wait longer to let cyclists pass the road for safety reason and conflicts occur easily. Another point to note is that cyclists do not need to pass traffic exam as vehicle drivers do. They are lack of the concepts about traffic rules and,in turn, pose danger to their and other road users' safety. When they penetrate the road as much as they want to, it could violate traffic rules and affect others. In view of these problems, it is vitally important that action is taken to combat these problems. To begin with, the government should ensure adequate legislation to control and regulate safe traffic use. For examples, fines can be given to those who violate traffic rules to deter their break of rules. Another solution is to launge campaigns to enhance the public's knowledge of road safety. When the public is more well informed of the safety rules, they will be more aware of traffic safety. Not only should they learn the traffic rules, but also to respect the other traffic users so that there will be fewer conflicts. Hence, individuals host a responsibility to be a considerate road user. Although there are unsolved problems to drivers and cyclists, there are steps that can be taken by the government and individuals to alleviate the problems. Therefore, the problems can be alleviated.