Some people believe that a significant difference between a parents age and their child's age is a good thing. Do you think the advantages of a significant age gap outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued by people that the generation gap has various positive and negative effects on the relation of mothers and fathers with their children. I certainly believe that a higher age gap between parents and their sons and daughters would have more problems than benefits. The main positive thing about a greater age difference between parents and children is that offsprings of such parents are more disciplined. That is to say, many such mothers and fathers tend to follow orthodox mindset and hence they maintain strict rules and clear boundaries with their children. By doing this, they could help their offspring to develop several valuable skills such as time management, respecting elderly people, waking up early every day, eating a healthy diet and many other similar skills, which would help them significantly to grow as a mature adult. However, the significant drawback of the generation gap is that it might deter children to freely share issues with their parents. As their parents are mostly rigid in their perceptions, they would probably prefer friends rather than family members for getting advice in many things, and this might put them at a greater risk if they were being misguided by their friends. For instance, many young drug addicts have accepted that they started taking narcotic compounds as they were highly stressed due to peer pressure at school and, at the same time, their parents were not even concerned about their issues. In conclusion, from the above arguments, it is pretty evident that the advantages of a larger age gap between parents and children are clearly outweighed by the disadvantages.