Some people believe that restoration of old buildings costs too much; we should demolish them and build new ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Old monuments and historical places truly represent the rich heritage and culture of a nation. A few individuals proposed that instead of renovating them such buildings should be destroyed and reconstructed. In my opinion, since these sites show the country's progress and struggle history over the years, authorities should try to mend them however, there is certain construction which cannot be restored anymore thereby, one could reconstruct them into new ones. To begin with, historical sites are the true representation of the country's thick and thin over the decades. One can estimate the struggling journey of a community or culture. For instance, in Punjab, a myriad of traditional houses in poor condition could be seen which tells the freedom struggle of those times. Moreover, such monuments attract a vast majority of tourists and bring a huge capital in the province's economy. Money from tourism could be spent on education, other infrastructure and health system of the state. In other words, the government could spend tourism earned capital for the betterment of other aspects to promote more visitors in democracy and also to generate more job opportunities for the younger generation. Furthermore, there are some places which are not able to renovate anymore due to their poor condition. Therefore, one could demolish them and construct new on their place because it could pose a bad impression of a society' s reputation among the rest of the developed countries. Hence, instead of spending a plethora of resources on mending these sites, corporations should focus more on building new ones with traditional appearance to generate more money from tourism. To recapitulate, although cultural sites are crucial for demonstration of the tradition of a community, however,one could never spend recklessly without considering other aspects equally important for the progression of the country. Hence, irrespective of culture and religion, higher officials should not spend on their restoration and concentrate more towards other aspects which could drag a democracy towards more progression.