Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern world, due to the advancement of technology, authorities can now keep a constant watch on people, such as stalking mobile phones and through video surveillance. Some people are unaware that they are being watched. Being monitored gives security to the public and reduce crime, while it can also cause sensitive information getting leaked and hacked by criminals. This essay will explain both pros and cons of this statement. Public places in the majority of metropolitan cities are on constant watch under CCTV surveillance. This gives a sense of security and safety to the public. With advanced technology, it is easier for law enforcement to nab criminals along with solid pieces of evidence. Therefore, this helps in reducing the crime rate in the city. For instance, with the use of CCTV footage crime rates have reduced quite substantially in Hyderabad. Although there are positives to this, negatives are also present. Sensitive documents and personal information are uploaded on the internet such as bank records, credit, and debit card details, property documents, personal photos, and videos, so on. These can be easily accessed by hackers and criminals who misuse them by blackmailing their targets for money extortion. For example, in India, it has become a rising trend for telephone hackers to transfer, large amounts of money to their accounts from their specific targets by simply taking control the mobile phones and computers. In conclusion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages as constant surveillance provides a safety net. There is also the danger of confidential information being leaked by cybercriminals.