In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is little doubt over the fact that all parents dream of providing the best possible education for their children. However, there appears to be a controversy on whether formal education should begin early or later in life. While some people believe schooling should start at the age of four, others argue it is not a necessity until the age of seven or eight. My opinion strongly leans towards those that prefer starting school at four and in this essay, I will give reasons for my stance after discussing both views. Early tutoring allows parents with more time to focus on their work. This means that they will be more productive in the jobs that they do without having to worry about their children being home alone. For example, in the latest report on income potential by Forbes, parents that had to spend less time at their home to watch over their offspring earned considerably more salary in comparison to those that had to spend more time. Also, a child is much more of an avid learner when young. This is to say, when he or she is around the age of 4, the ability to grasp a variety of subjects blazingly quick is observed. As an example, schools don’t hesitate to admit young children as they show promising results in aptitude tests. Scores of older children show less promise and schools, especially the elite ones, are reluctant to give them admission. On the contrary, kids starting their education late are known to be over-reliant on their adults. This in turns means that they will go through a much more challenging phase in life when required to deal with matters on their own. For example, tests have shown that children who started school at the age of 7 or more are rarely able to get into boarding schools for their higher studies. To conclude, education should start as early as possible because, in today’s world, the attributes that really matter are decision making and being self-dependent. Characteristics like these can only be acquired when they are admitted to a school as soon as they are ready.