Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are differing views regarding competition and cooperation. I believe the the former approach is better because it forces people to improve. Some people prefer cooperation to competition because it allows the division of work based on skills. Take, for example, the case of a team of nuclear engineering students working on designing a nuclear reactor. In order to do this task, problems related to different fields of engineering must be solved, which is often too hard for a single individual. When there is a team involved, however, this massive workload can be divided between members based on their area of expertise. This is not possible through competition as an individual has to do all the work themselves, taking on a lot of burden in the process. However, I think that if the workload is divided in this way, people will have difficulty learning skills they do not possess as they will always be forced to only work on things they are familiar with. On the other hand, competition compels an individual to do better. Consider the case of University Entrance Exam Test that takes place in India each year, where students compete for a very limited number of seats available at public universities. The competition that students who partake in this exam face forces them to study harder which, in turn, makes them better at the subjects they are taking tests on. The situation is similar at workplace, where the race for promotion encourages employees to do better at their jobs than their colleagues. Also, in daily life, people try to make more money than others to get better standing in society. I agree with this argument because the heat of competition encourages personal growth in individuals, which helps them in all aspects of life. In conclusion, while cooperation enables division of work with others according to their expertise, I believe it is more important to focus on competition as it forces a person to make progress.