Some people think planning for the future is a waste of time and people should focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Planning for the future or living in the moment arouse a great deal of controversy since many people advocate that having a plan for the future will not bring any benefits but a waste of time. From my perspective, I partly agree with the statement because I prefer living in the present and planning for my future in a realistic way at the same time. Firstly, if we ask ourselves what we will do now if we die tomorrow, we will understand the present moment is the only moment we have control. In reality, it does not matter how much we plan; we never know for sure how long we stay alive. Therefore, we should live our life at the fullest by doing what is important to us, taking chances, and showing our love to our loved ones. Taking my friend as an example, she was diagnosed with cancer in her early twenties; luckily, she overcame the fears and lived for her present. In the end, she was able to live ten more years and at least became a teacher for abandoned children in a local pagoda. Secondly, living in the moment does not mean we stop planning for our future because planning is not going to take us out of the present. In fact, if we know how to reflect ourselves, become a silent watcher of our behaviours, listen to our feelings when we plan, this means we are present and mindful about the present. For instance, earning a fortune is a real desire of many people, and mindful people will not start with a plan to fully purchase for a property in a year if they work as a team member in a local supermarket. Instead, they will have long-term property instalment and investment, which would be easier to achieve with the current financial status. In conclusion, living in the present can indeed bring more good than back, yet planning for the future is not the other side of the table. In the views of the arguments outlined above, I strongly believe that both aspects are two sides of the same coin.