In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

Suffice it to say, that the American Dream has significantly changed the perception of a lifestyle among many young people across the globe. Admittedly, not everyone wants or has an opportunity to move to the United States of America, but at the same time, having big aspirations, many individuals tend to move to bigger places, like metropolis, to fulfil their dreams. First of all, there is a plethora of reasons, why people want to leave the countryside area. As an example, it is widely regarded, that big cities provide more career and education opportunities, and, consequently, higher salaries; a variety of high-quality services, and a myriad of entertainment. Having said that, many adolescents feel suffocated in their native small towns by not being given the aforementioned benefits and are convinced, that their aspirations can be fulfilled only in metropolises. However, the massive outflow of people can have a detrimental effect not only on rural areas by decreasing their population, but the big cities as well, having an opposite effect and causing overpopulation in major towns and actually decreasing the amount of possibilities for many adolescents, by creating an extremely competitive and hostile environment. Moreover, countryside areas typically remain underdeveloped, creating a high disproportion between the rich and the poor regions. Therefore, the government should concentrate on a well-rounded development of every region and not consolidate everything in one place. In conclusion, while I fully understand the inclination to move to a bigger city, I firmly believe that it is crucial to preserve the population in the countryside, for if everyone abandons rural areas, not only will we face the problem of overpopulation in major cities, but also a major setback in the overall development of the country's regions.