Should government make decisions about people's lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

There's a debate in society on whether governments should decide the lifestyle of people for them or whether people should carve out their own standard of living. I believe that the lifestyle of people should be their own choice rather than a decision of the government. This is because every individual has a right to decide the conditions in which he or she wants to live and if this right is exercised on their behalf by the government people generally become unproductive. Following is a discussion which illustrates these perspectives. To begin with, nowadays, everyone desires a luxurious and lavish lifestyle so they can enjoy every moment of their life. It is up to a person to have a moderate standard of living or to have an affluent life. This desire provides them with a goal and a purpose in their lives which allows them to burn the midnight oil to achieve it. For example, younger people - mostly in the age group of 20-30 - wish to have huge apartments, fancy cars, holidays abroad, expensive education etc. Therefore, although they struggle since early adulthood to attain that level, they also have a sense of achievement as well as good self-esteem when they have fulfilled all their dreams. in contrast, when governments, decide to equalise the quality of life for their population and take measures to do so, they stymie the abilities, creativity and productivity of citizens, which will ultimately harm the economy of the country. These kind of measures are a lose-lose in the long run for both governments and people. For instance, in Pakistan, a scheme was planned for the poor community to provide them with bread and clothing through a pre-decided monthly amount in their names which led to a reduction in the rate of employment in those communities which added to the burden of the local authority - where it had to come up with the resources to finance this scheme. Therefore, in my opinion, it is better for the masses to settle on the standard of living they want to have rather than the government stipulating it.