Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Watching television is bad for children. Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

A majority of people strongly believe that youngsters who watch TV are influenced by negative thoughts that create distractions, become passive and lessen outdoor activities. In my opinion, sitting in front of a box for long periods of time will lead to leading an unhealthy lifestyle. Firstly, Education is considered the most important aspect of a child’s life. Without proper schooling, a person may not be successful in life. With this point in hand, a child who is addicted to television, will not be able to pay more attention to his studies, and lead to a gradual decrease in grades. Hence, I think, children should be given a little time to relax in front of the small screen after school and focus on learning for a major part of the day. For instance, in countries like India, kids are only allowed to watch the tube for a stipulated period in the whole week. Secondly, since the TV has rapidly evolved to portable gadgets, like mobiles and tablets, the young ones nowadays, spend more time on these devices rather than playing outside. They are seldom seen in the playgrounds, and often at home, leading an unhealthy and inactive lifestyle, due to which, obesity and laziness become a part of their lives. To take another example, most schools in India, make it a mandatory habit for youngsters to take part in physical education after school daily, which helps in reducing the time spent before the idiot box. To conclude, although children should be allowed to watch television for some time weekly but allowed more time for education and playground activities. This would develop pave the way to improve and sustain a good health condition.