Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertisement is considered to be a powerful marketing tool by almost every company in the world. It is believed by some that advertising is still the most effective tool while others think that people have become more ignorant towards it because of its overuse. I believe that advertising is still an effective way to persuade a person into buying things despite the fact that it has become very common. Advertising is a science of persuading other with intensive research, however, the frequent use of this tool has made people less receptive towards it. To start with, the science of persuading someone into buying something requires detailed knowledge of the person's requirement and needs. This science is often adopted in advertising that knows exactly to what people to target based on the product. For instance, fairness cream is more popular among the younger generation therefore, the advertisement of any fairness cream always appeals to them by showcasing the advantages in the life of young people. This science of persuading is always successful in selling one's product to its consumers. Despite, the science behind the advertisement, many company's does not follow it and rely on the frequency of advertising which eventually becomes less popular amongst its consumers. For example, there is a T.V. commercial of a cricket bat that appeals to everyone without any clear message, however, one can find it everywhere has eventually shown a decrease in the company's sales figures. The increased use of the same commercial over and over will only make its consumers more irritated than persuaded. To conclude, the research and concept of the advertisement are far more important than its frequency. A company must do a cost-benefit analysis of frequency and research before adopting frequency as the only option to improve its sales.