Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advances in technology and the introduction of social media, most people use chats and posts to interact with each other. There has been a lot of discussion regarding the changes in relationships that were created by this trend. I believe that technology affected negatively all types of relationships, moreover, it is a negative development for society and explanations will be given in this essay. The first problem is that with the increasing usage of mobile phones and social media, it is much easier to interact with others by chats and text messages. For example, Whatsapp is now one of the most used apps in mobile phones and people prefer texting messages or using emojis to talk to everyone, in detrimental of making a phone call. However, messages sometimes can be misunderstood and emojis many times do not reflect the real emotion of that moment. Consequently, even when talking constantly with someone by messages, the real feelings regarding the person that is in the conversation or the message that was sent, may be lacking, and then, relationships become more superficial. Another issue associated with interactions done by technological tools is regarding socialization. For instance, a person that interacts with others by messages or chats misses an important skill needed by humans, the ability to socialize. In addition, conversations are limited to chats instead of meetings in person, since it is faster and easier to type than going out for a coffee, for example. Individuals should engage themselves in trying to meet others and keep socializing. A possible solution for this change would be to engage individuals to meet others or enhance the number of presential meetings, for instance, avoiding typing and doing more talking. In conclusion, in my opinion, the technological era that we are living nowadays affected all types of relationship in a negative way. Because of the greater usage of mobile phones and social media apps to engage in conversations, true emotions are hidden and socialization is lacking. People should rethink about the values of interactions with others and try to change this detrimental behaviour.