These seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

The education system in most of the nation prefers taking exams instead of regular assessments. Let's discuss the merits and demerits of the above notion. The process of feedback is the backbone of adolescent learning. The main pros are that there is always a well-organized schedule examination which happens usually once in 3 months. Consequently, the learners will get enough term to prepare for the same. For instance, each university follows the same process of conducting the exam and as per the dean of the “Oxford University”, the students enjoy the flow of syllabus. More so, another benefit is that there is no unnecessary burden on the youngsters to complete their task, else it has been seen that many of the trainees have taken an extreme step due to the excess burden of a curriculum. For example, a recent survey conducted in Japan stated that 70% of youth has committed suicide due to the unbearable strain of the learning arrangement. Thus, it is manifested that it is essential to give sufficient days to students between the assessments. Though there are several benefits of the scheduled assessments, there are certain disadvantages to this procedure. The first and foremost is that the semestrial-exam is conducted only once in 3 months which indeed discourage the continuous improvement in the teenagers. Whereas regular assessment spread awareness about there shortfalls or the area of improvement they work on before the final term. As a result, they are not aware of their incapacity till the actual day appears. Secondly, when there is a huge gap between assessment than they tend to become careless towards their studies. Due to which, they end up planning for preparation just a month before the final day. For example, a recent study had clearly mentioned that 70% of youngsters start preparing for their exams just one month prior to it, and the rest of the term they waste in other recreational activities. Henceforth, there are certain drawbacks of learning system which we should consider. In conclusion, the planned assessments instead of regular one are the trend in the training structure, which has benefits such as enough space to students for studies and in turn reduce mental stress for them but at the same point,there are few disadvantages of it as mentioned above.