The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

The phenomenon of keeping the criminals behind the bars has not proven to be so successful in their rehabilitation and most of the prisoners return to their evil world just after being released. In this essay, initially, we will be discussing the issues with the current prison system and later, some feasible methods to curb this problem will be examined. To begin with, our prison systems are less focussed towards educating the criminals rather it is just about punishing them for their offences. To further explain, usually, the penitentiary staff mistreats the prisoners and place them in extremely small cells in an isolation, due to which they gain more hatred against the society and repeat their crimes after getting released. For example, Newzealand gathered all those prisoners convicted in any public safety act who were mostly teenagers and educated them quite well, surprisingly, most of them are in colleges now, pursuing higher education and proving to be an asset for the country. Considering the above problem there are few potential solutions to reform the criminals. Firstly, there should be proper education in the jails and the younger prisoners should get proper schooling inside the lockup which will develop their mentality and give them a chance to restart their life. Secondly, the punishment should be given as per the crime carried by the convicted and the proper assistance and guidance should be provided by the prison administration to ensure that the person should not face the same situation which led him to commit the crime previously. For instance, if a prisoner has been convicted of the robbery he must be in some financial crisis, therefore, if he is assisted financially and guided properly, he can start a simple business once he completes his sentence. To conclude, the existing cell system is just for the purpose of punishing the prisoners instead of teaching them the moral ethics and educating them to be better citizens. However, if some alterations are done in this system like opening the schools inside jails and helping the prisoners to deal with the situations that led them to commit some lawlessness, there will be a huge transformation in our society, in result crime-rate will diminish.