In some countries the average weight of people is increasing, and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes for these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In the last decades, the development of countries and cities had changed the population's lifestyle. The drop of the numbers that indicate its health and fitness is one of the side-effects to these major transformations. Although the reasons seem as difficult obstacles, there are simple and effective measures to solve them. One of the causes is that people usually have busy lives and prioritize their work over health. Therefore, they have no time to cook a proper meal and do exercises regularly. One possible measure to solve this is to companies incentive their employees to take care of themselves reducing their permanence at the workplace with longer pauses for lunch and investing in food education as part of their training. A second cause is a cost to eat better. Normally, fast-food is a cheap option for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and there are people that will follow the whole menu daily. However, this sort of food is poorly nutritive and it can offer serious damages when eaten excessively. To solve this problem, organic and natural food should have its prices and taxes lowered, so people could be capable of choose quality over convenience. Lastly, it is problematic that there is a lack of common spaces to exercise and practice of sports. If being healthy and fit needs to change a way-of-life, it also needs the environment into somewhere stimulating. A measure of this problem is the cities invest more in public parks that offer suitable equipment, professionals to guide their usage and incentive the public to practice collective sports daily. To sum up, there are reasons that come with the development that justify why people are not as healthy as before. Nevertheless, there has to be an arranged effort to give support for those that need and want to change their behaviour and lifestyle.