There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every person in this world must have a desire to have a successful life. However, the standard of success varies from one person to another. Some people argue that it is important to eliminate non-academic subjects in schools and only focus on academic subjects, whereas others think non-academic subjects should still be maintained. I personally believe that non-academic subjects are as important as academic subjects and should not be eliminated from the school's curriculum. Some people believe that concentrating only on academic subjects will increase employment acceptance after graduating school, for example, children who want to become engineers will have to excel in mathematics and physics. However, I beg to differ with this point of view because not everyone's true potential is related to academic subjects. There are many children who dislike mathematics and fail their physics tests but are exceptional in cookery, arts or music. Thus, by having non-academic subjects in schools, teachers may be able to discover students' true potential and eventually can provide proper guidance and steps for these children to be successful in their own way. Moreover, some non-academic subjects help children concentrate more during the day and consequently improve their focus when studying academic subjects. One example is by doing physical exercise. Research has confirmed that physical exercises contribute to the release of endorphin hormones in human bodies and therefore will prevent children from getting depression or stress while studying. In addition, I have also experienced myself where I feel like the best time for me to study is after finishing my morning workout as I feel freshened up. To sum up, I believe it is necessary for schools to maintain non-academic subjects as part of the schools ' education programs as some students' passions are related to these non-academic subjects and some non-academic subjects help children to focus more on academic subjects.