Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that a person can learn from his history or not as it has its own benefits and disadvantages. As per my view, I think, going ahead without learning from the past will be a foolish thing. This essay will discuss both sides before going to a conclusion. To start with, a person can do much better if he will prefer to go further without looking in his past, as sometimes the past contains its own darkness and mistakes that makes a person fragile. For example, if an individual gets free from prison, it is not good for him to live in the past when he had to suffer mental illness during a prison period, therefore it is considered good if he will think about the future instead of his past. On the other side, every person has a history to learn from his older generation’s experience, which helps him to take necessary and pivotal decisions. People can get information from their history about the paths that make pupils successful or wealthy during a hard period of their life or can gain the experience of their parents or grandparents. To illustrate, 65% of people prefer to handle their family businesses instead of opening their own new trade as they know they can get benefit from the knowledge of their older ones. To conclude, it is a personal choice of a human being to make his own blueprints to complete their work or to learn from his past, but it will be more beneficial if people prefer to learn from the history as it shares the knowledge, experiences and types of failures that other people had to face, which a person living in the present era can avoid.