In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

It is apparent that fewer and fewer millennials enjoy a taste of classical music across countries. The reasons that are a change of music lover’s perception and demand for being financially and professional to perform this genre. In my perspective, it is meaningless to encourage the young generation to pursue chamber music. First of all, since people tend to listen to other genres that have subsequently developed, classical music lost a majority of the audience. Modern genres are associated with a bustle living style whereas classical music has a slow and gentle melody, which is different to youth behavior, so it is no wonder that it is not easy to wind the heart of the listeners. Rock music, for instance, has a powerful harmony that reflects today’s fast pace life. Secondly, classical music is picky for players, so that not many young people tolerate their financial and professional requirements. Musical instruments are quite expensive, as well as its long-term training course. One example is that a pianist occasionally has to go through six to seven years to meet the musical academy’s standards. Thus, the invasion of today’s musical types and high requisite accounts for a downward trend of classical music Nevertheless, it is pointless to compel children to study and listen to classical music despite its long term existence. Performers have their own right to opt for what musical genre is suitable. Unless they have their inner motivation, they will intentionally follow their music interest regardless of their adversity. Moreover, there is no justification to force students to find costly and onerous reactional activities. Being genuine passion is more necessary than parental pressure, or it will be counterproductive. To conclude, young people enjoy music which is prevalent in society rather than classical music. Due to its pricey equipment and a long period of education, it is unnecessary to incite the younger generation chasing it.