Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

Food is a fundamental element for the human to survive. Some people suggest that countries should produce their own food and only import as little as possible. I completely agree with this since it helps improve one country's economy and maintain national safety. Of the reasons why countries should not generate their own food, probably the most significant one is that it can create human-induced tragedy. Since not all countries are geographically fit for growing crops or raise livestock, problems such as famine can easily be caused. Other factors such as unstable political stability and poor citizens' health also hinder agricultural development. Therefore, it is disastrous when all countries produce their own food and those who cannot make food will suffer. Nevertheless, never should we overlook the fact that by generating our own food, the economic status can ultimately be stabilized and independent as it allows countries to be more independent from each other. At the early developing stage, more job opportunities are created in agricultural and technological sectors that scientists seek ways to minimize physical restraints such as weather conditions in order to grow healthy crops and livestock. It can also be seen as a way to strengthen a nation's soft power and hence they become independent in food supply and reduce reliance on other countries. Therefore, conflicts can make their own food and support themselves. To conclude, by producing their own food by countries, country states can be more stable as more job opportunities can be provided and the food supply is sustainable. It is predictable that conflicts between nations would be less and food diversity can still be maintained through import. Therefore, it is clear that food production by countries themselves for their population is beneficial.