As children work more and more on electronic devices, such as laptops, tablets and smartphones, many are losing their handwriting skills. Many parents want teachers to reinforce this skill by making students submit handwritten assignments. What would the advantages and disadvantages of doing this be?

In recent years, young students are using more technological gadgets than paper and colorful pencils. This situation is worrying parents and making them ask for schools to demand more handwritten activities from their learners. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative sides of the argument with examples. Stimulating the ability to write can be a good training for kids’ minds. That happens because it demands more dedication than simply typing on the computer. For example, the learners have to remember how to write the word and construct a phrase without any help from the automatics online correctors. As a result, they become smarter and more prepared for possible physical tests in the future. However, students are usually slower preparing handwritten texts. It is because, nowadays, we are more used to creating texts on tablets and other mobile devices. To illustrate that, it is easier seeing someone making important notes on their phones instead of making them in paper notebooks. As a consequence, it would be more natural and practical for pupils to keep using machines on their daily school activities. In conclusion, writing chores can be a developer factor for the children’s brain. It prepares the young ones for future challenges, making them more intelligent people without extra help from the technology. On the other hand, it can also become a burden. This would happen because children would spend more time accomplishing these activities since they are more familiar with internet linked devices.