Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, whether or not the existence of schools is necessary has been a widely debated issue. Some people believe that schools are no longer a must due to the prevalence of the Internet nowadays. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly disagree with this statement. Although being able to acquire information through the Internet, children might be addicted to video games or social media, both of which distract their studies badly. Some of them even suffer from eye strain and nearsightedness because of prolonged use of screens without taking breaks properly. Last but not least, the majority of children tend to develop a sedentary lifestyle, causing them to risk chronic diseases such as obesity and hypertension. In contrast, schools typically have strict regulations regarding surfing the Internet and courses requiring students to do outdoor exercises, so the above concerns can be easily solved. Besides learning knowledge, schools provide other basic educational resources to children in my opinion. First of all, when individuals are involved in group activities or discussions, they will learn about communication skills, teamwork abilities, and time management. In addition, only teachers, instead of computers, can address students' learning problems and inspire them to build confidence to face the challenges. Also, children sometimes have questions about their future careers, and suggestions from teachers are much more meaningful than anonymous Internet users. In conclusion, even if the Internet enables people to learn on their own, I believe that schools still play a crucial role in society and are necessary for providing social experiences and guiding mentors.