Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Nowadays, a significant amount of money is allocated for product promotion and advertisements by large business firms, and this makes more and more people to concentrate around their products.As a consequence of this, many local business get collapsed, and due to the attractive adds and discounts, cosumers tend to deviate from the better quality products towards to the popular ones. To begin with, attraction of the consumers towards the big business companies such as large supermarkets and shoping complexes leads to a catastrophic effect on local business communities. Owing to the reduced business rate, their marginally running budjet gets easily paralyzed. This downfall can adversly affect the economy of entire society and ultimatly affecting the entire nation. Moreover, not all the popular products are good in quality, but owing to the excessive media promotions via commertials by these larger firms, people are highly pursuaded to purchase unnecessary and unfavourable items.For instances, there is a massive promotion of a " chicken cube" which contains variety of carcinogenic ingredients including Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) via a TV commercial. Inorder to solve this dire issue, consumers should encourage to purchase from local shops instead of popular products from larger companied.One successful method is, popularisation of local business with variety of advertisements: via news papers,hand bills and verbally. Additionally, authorities can support local businessmen to modify their places in to more eyecatching and convenient stores, which ultimatly leads to gravitation of customers around and rise in business. In conclusion, gathering of people around the larger business firms, owing to their promotion and popularity has dire effect on local business communities and consumers. By popularising and facilitating local trades this issue can be controlled.