Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the technological advancements, universities nowadays offer online courses so that people can attend it online from anywhere. While For me, this development has both advantages and disadvantages. I will support my stand with valid arguments in the following paragraphs. Universities offer online courses which benefit many students who live outside the country and now because of the online system, foreign students can also gain knowledge by just attending courses on the internet. It also allows people to do part-time jobs along with study as it saves much time and individuals can easily utilise it by doing some paid jobs and vocational training. For example, many universities in Canada started online study because of its extreme weather conditions and now people easily learn and also work alongside. On the other hand, there are few disadvantages of this system, some people do not have resources to start online studies as they should have a laptop or a personal computer and high-speed internet access, sometimes poor people do not have such electronic gadgets. Furthermore, some courses need practical knowledge and experiments for better understanding, in online study individuals cannot attend practice sessions. For example, laboratory experiments for chemistry-related courses are not possible online. In conclusion, there is no denying that online courses have certain drawbacks, though there are also positive results, as people can study by the use of new techniques and technologies, anywhere and anytime. Thus, online courses can be beneficial to some extent, but their negative effects should be taken care of.