Some people say that arts subject such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that art classes such as painting and drawing should not be made mandatory for high school pupils. I totally agree with this statement as I think that a lot of students will find it a waste of time. To begin with, I believe that high school is an association of learning basic knowledge that is useful to enter university and art subjects play a negligible role in entering further education. To illustrate, for most students who need to focus on more important subjects like math and English, learning art is a waste of time. For example, in South Korea, many high-graded undergraduates avoid art lessons as these subjects are not included in Korean university entrance exams. Thus, they do not opt for artistic classes. Instead, they tend to spend their time studying other fields, which have a direct impact on getting into universities. Furthermore, more and more young individuals are willing to learn practical subjects rather than enduring boring art lessons. To be specific, due to the advancement of technology, a lot of people are now aware of the significance of science and mathematics. As a result, the popularity of several fields such as art and psychology has been dramatically decreasing. Indeed, only a small minority of young students are willing to attend art classes. Therefore, making art subjects compulsory for high school pupils is not needed. To conclude, some individuals say that we should not include art classes in a high school curriculum. I agree with this opinion and think that for a majority of pupils, art is not an important subject to learn. Hence, people who have an interest in art should personally choose to study it and it should not be a mandatory subject in high schools.