Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interaction with family members has remained an integral part of our society since prehistoric times. However, some hold the view that communication between family members has become less frequent over time. This essay will instead argue that communication in the present times has considerably increased relative to the past. It is widely believed that communication among family members is significantly decreased in today’s day and age. Most people are finding less time to spend with their families as they are finding it relatively harder to fulfil the family’s end meets. This is because the increased commodity prices and desire for savings, require individuals to work for longer hours and hence, the time that is supposed to be spent with family members rather gets compromised. Moreover, in the modern era, individuals attempt to be more independent than before. This essentially means they would think twice before opting to share their concerns and feelings with other family members. They attempt to spend more time resolving the issue than to spare time to discuss them with the other family members. It is this thinking transformation that has occurred over time that has also contributed towards reduced communication among family members. Despite the above-mentioned challenges introduced by the modern age, the notion that communication has reduced over time is flawed. Modern communication devices have facilitated communication between family members. Family members do not have to travel vast distances as before if they wish to talk or spend time with their loved ones. For instance, in a matter of seconds, using a cell phone, they can reach out to someone even living across the globe. Unlike today, family members had to take into account the long distances, weather, social safety along with other factors prior to deciding to talk to their closed relatives. In short, communication over time has surged due to the introduction of modern forms of communication, despite the challenges offered by the present age. In conclusion, this essay argued that contemporary times offer more ways to connect with your family members than earlier times. In my opinion, this is justifiably true that modern age presents unique challenges which can impact communication to a certain extent but with the modern mediums of communication, this challenge is entirely countered and, in fact, has increased connection between family members.