Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

The cities are faced with an ever-increasing problem of littering. Many people believe that the best method to tackle this issue is to impose heavier fines. In my opinion, steeper fines will certainly improve the situation of littering. However, it should be accompanied by other measures if we are to aim for litter-free cities. By imposing steeper fines, the issue of littering within the cities can be tackled to a great extent. This measure will make people think twice before they will attempt to throw waste at public places since they will be worried about financial consequences. For instance, Pakistan is starting to register less litter at the tourist locations since the introduction of fines. Having said that, it is also evident that those places, with this law already implemented, are still struggling to achieve the zero-litter goal. This suggests that more measures need to be set in place along with fine implementation to achieve desired results. Measures, such as increased availability of garbage bins across the most crowded parts of the cities together with educating the public on the harmful impact of littering, can make us a step closer to resolving the issue. If people can find trash bins in their close vicinity, they will certainly attempt to throw the litter in that bin that otherwise will land on some sidewalk. Moreover, educating the public on different aspects of littering can further help the cause. For example, spreading awareness on how non-decaying aspect of plastic blags causes environmental issues. To conclude, I certainly believe that hiked fines will definitely reduce littering, but if we want to make our surroundings completely litter-free, such a step should be accompanied by other measures like increased garbage bins availability and spreading awareness about littering.