Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railways and roads are important transport infrastructures, which everyone uses on a daily basis. Therefore, deciding which system to invest in is not an easy question. The answer can be both as they offer different benefits. On the one hand, there are some advantages offered by roads. Firstly, it is a fact that many people travel around by private vehicles, thus the road system needs to be upgraded and maintained regularly to ensure easy travelling for everyone. Another benefit is that road development projects are cheaper than constructing railway lines. This is because the railway system requires not only train stations, trains, fences, but also a huge amount of personnel to operate the whole system safely. Therefore, the government can save large sums of money to build other public facilities. Clearly, both the government and citizens will benefit from a good road system. On the other hand, railways also hold attractive benefits. One of those advantages is the ability to transport passengers and freight in bulk, and at lower costs than other inland means of transport. Furthermore, trains help solve traffic congestion in big cities because they operate on separate lines. More importantly, modern trains have less impact on the environment as they run on electric power that produces fewer emissions compared with other conventional vehicles. It is no doubt that railways offer a promising solution to solve transport problems. In conclusion, investments in railways and roads are beneficial to residents and the authorities. Therefore, in my view, we should develop both of them to provide people with convenient transport and at the same time address challenges in transport.