Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standard on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Modern technology has really made human lives simple and enabled them to explore areas such as outer space. Although exploring it may be beneficial for human beings, some people feel that the government should spend money to improve living standards on Earth and focus more on the current world problems. However, I would favour more toward the latter opinion for some reasons that are set out below. Nowadays, scientists have tried observing space to find new planets for humans to live in as overpopulation has become one of the main problems humans are facing now. Furthermore, the government has really shown a lot of support toward this project by funding NASA and other space research programs to create new shuttles, develop new advanced telescopes, and provide new training centres for new astronauts. As a result, the government can give more funding to NASA to prepare space research more precisely and find new planets and knowledge about space. However, some people feel that this decision is not beneficial for them and that the government should allocate more funding toward issues related to earth today. The government should have given more support to the health, education and public facility sectors. For example, improving public facilities such as building transport between long-distance cities to help people travel faster and sending food, providing shelters and free education for poor families. This funding can be used to help people improve their living standards in the present time. To conclude, it is better for the government to understand the problem humans are facing now and prioritize more funding towards the solution that can be done rather than focusing on future research that result is still unclear.