The most important consideration when choosing any career or job is having a high income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether a significant income ought to be the most crucial when choosing an occupation is quite a controversially disputed topic today. This essay will examine both sides and provide reasons why people should not opt for a job just because of the financial aspects. In my view, there are plentiful aspects that are vital to consider in order to find the most suitable profession. On the one hand, the larger the salary is, the better the job would be. This statement is thought by a large number of people. It is considered by some, as a higher income can result in a more comfortable lifestyle which would be favoured by a vast majority of the population. However, a better paycheck does not increase job satisfaction. According to a recent study conducted by Harvard in 2017, for instance, only 3 in 10 of the interviewee would opt for a higher wage even if they had not enjoyed their jobs. As a result, being fully satisfied is deemed considerably important with most people. In terms of choosing an occupation, people should decide what career to pursue according to their personalities and motivation. For example, a person who lacks interpersonal and soft skills should not endeavour to become a businessman, since there is a huge probability that they will not succeed. Although, those who value money more than being satisfied, a less financially encumbered life might worth more. Lastly, the opportunity to be granted a higher pay might result in climbing the social ladder. In conclusion, choosing a career with an aim to have a high compensation, thus it might be a smart idea for some, but I opine that majority of people should follow their heart and opt for an occupation that would help the person to make the world a better place.