Some people agree with spending lot of mpney on large wedding while others thinks it is a waste of money. What is your opinion?

Fancy weddings are becoming more fashionable these days. With the emergence of concepts like destination and theme based weddings, people are spending huge amounts on marriages. Some people believe in the idea of an expensive and luxurious wedding, whereas others do not agree with this idea. In my opinion, it is not worth to spend a lot of money on marriage functions. Firstly, the wedding is all about two families getting together. It is necessary to make some arrangements for all the guests coming to the function such as a variety of options to eat and decorating the place. However, a line needs to be drawn in the amount that one is spending. For example, in India, people invite families who are not so close which results in an increase in the number of invitees. Apart from this, the money that is spent on the dresses of the bride and groom is a waste of money. Especially, nowadays there are dresses which are worn only on the marriage day, as it becomes useless after the ceremony. Secondly, the concept of a destination wedding is meaningless. People spend extra cash on travel which is not just for the immediate family but also for the other guests. With many celebrities getting married fancily and luxuriously, the younger generation is getting highly influenced with such trends. This will result in extra burden to the parents. For instance, parents borrow money from banks or private money lenders just to fulfil the wishes of their son\daughter, and they end up paying back the money rest of their lives. Hence, knowing one's limit is extremely important and making sure they do not suffer in future because of a day's happiness. In conclusion, I believe spending money on wedding ceremonies is essential but one should be aware of his\her limits. Always better to plan a budget and follow the same. Although luxuries bring momentary happiness, one should not get carried away with it and think of long term joy.