Teenage offenders should be treated in the same way as adult criminals. Do you agree?

More teenagers worldwide have committed crimes so it is supported by many people that teenage offenders should receive similar punishments as adult criminals. In my view, teenage criminals should be punished in alternative systems which are special for young criminals because of teenagers' complicated factors and rehabilitation programs that may guide teenagers to a better future. Teenage criminals commit crimes because they may be under many negative influences in life. First, they are so young that they may have poor basic life skills such as critical thinking or judgement skills. Many teenagers often act out without properly considering their actions and the consequences. Lack of personal experiences also makes teenagers commit crimes due to a lack of self-control or self-disciplining. In addition, nowadays, teenagers are living in a world full of digital products, and early excessive exposure to violent computer games without proper parental guidance tends to contribute to teenagers' criminal behaviours. Last but not the least, teenagers are vulnerable to add to bad habits such as doing drugs or drinking alcohol under peer pressure, which also influences teenagers' behaviours and leads them to commit crimes. In addition, punishment is an essential method to discourage criminals among ordinary citizens. However, the universal punishment system for adult criminals worldwide is not suitable to be applied to young criminals. Current adult criminal punishment often results in poor outcomes of young criminals' lives due to tremendous negative impacts on their mental health. Many alternative methods such as rehabilitation programs or community services which often provide supports during their punishment period. Teenage criminals are able to receive proper education and continue to gain their basic skills and knowledge when they participate the rehabilitation programs or community services. As a result, they remain to have their opportunities to develop into a person who may contribute to societies after they are released and return back to communities. In conclusion, young criminals should not be treated as adult criminals because they are also victims of lack of social support, profound digital games and peer pressures. They too young to be received current punishment for adults which also lead to tremendous negative impacts on young criminals in their future life.