Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to public health there is a debate on how to improve people's health condition. While some people believe the best way to achieve such a goal is by offering more sports facilities, others argue that further measures are necessary. This essay will discuss both sides and explain why I agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, there are those who believe that only offering sports facilities is an efficient measure to make people exercise and, therefore, improve their fitness level. To illustrate, according to some researchers, there is a relation between public health and the number of sports facilities. In other words, the more sports facilities provided in a given region, the better is the public health parameters of this place. On the other hand, some people believe that the measure aforementioned is not enough to make people healthier. This is because they believe that offering those places without teaching them how to use and, more importantly, why they should use, is a waste of money. I agree with this idea and, in my opinion, the government should invest in education because this is the only way to teach people that exercising is vital. Governors should, for example, increase the time that children practice sports in schools. If children practice more sports, they will become healthier adults and they will naturally search for places to exercise. To sum up, even though some researches say there is a connection between offering sports facilities and measures of public health, I believe it is necessary others steps and education is the way.