Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermakets in some countries, many small and local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, many countries have enforced the growth of supermarkets to provide their people with an easy way out to buy groceries in just one single place. Nevertheless, this form of expansion often pushes back the development of small businesses because there is no gap for the locals to compete with the bigger ones. Although there are many different opinions have been said about this matter, I agree that the downfall of local businesses can negatively affect the lives of local societies around them. First of all, the lifespan of most small and local commerces is usually backboned by the local communities behind them. For example, Koperasi Simpan Pinjam is a form of business that was originally created to provide an easier practice for people to loan some money or make a living out of selling goods with their neighbours. Not only does it give benefits to the sellers, but the goods sold by them are also pretty affordable for others in the area. Before we know it, this business can strengthen the community by letting people interact daily while developing their quality of life at the same time. Other than that, the profits that come from small and local businesses can be turned into additional funds for the neighbourhood on numerous occasions. To demonstrate, restaurant owners would sometimes supply food or beverages for cultural or religious events in the hope of supporting the locals with what they do best. This can also be seen as a form of gratitude by business owners to the community for purchasing their goods on a day-to-day basis. In conclusion, there is a tight connection in terms of public interaction and the mutual relationship between small businesses and the public around them. A strong connection means that the downfall of local businesses can obviously impact the continuity of communities, or maybe the other way around. With that in mind, it is only right for the government to not only support the development and expansion of supermarkets but also push the continuity of these businesses by giving business support, such as training or incubations.