People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Crime is a serious problem across the globe and all countries are trying to deal with this pressing issue. A section of the society believe that prison sentences for a longer duration can help reduce the crime, whilst others disagree and argue that there are other better ways to solve this. This essay agrees with the argument that alternative ways such as educating people and giving them resources to earn are far more beneficial than confining them to a prison cell. This essay will discuss both points of view. To begin with, many people believe that offenders should be punished with long prison sentences because this phenomenon can invoke fear among other criminals. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any crime, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. For example, in the UAE, the rapist and the murderer usually get lifetime prison sentences, resulting in making people think twice before committing any serious crime. Hence, imposing strict punishment deters people from committing atrocities. However, I believe that alternative ways such as providing proper education facilities and employment can solve the issues far more effectively. Sufficient education and job opportunities keep the masses busy and away from crimes. To exemplify, in Sweden education is free for everyone and the country’s authority is continuously working for more employment opportunities. That is the reason why Sweden tops the list of peaceful countries where the crime rate is almost ignorable. In conclusion, longer prison terms certainly instil fear in the minds of potential criminals and discourage them from committing offences. However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing education and employment opportunities is a far better option.