Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

With the increase in the population in many countries, people need more homes to live in. There is a debate either to construct new homes in the existing cities or new towns should be constructed in the countryside. In my opinion, building new cities would be a good option instead of making current cities more congested. Firstly, new houses should be constructed in rural areas to handle population growth in urban areas. In many countries, the land of the cities is not ample to tackle the surge in the population. Consequently, the town becomes more overcrowded and, it badly affects the living standard of its residents. For example, according to the report published by Survey of Pakistan, in 2020 the traffic on the roads of Islamabad increases 50% more compared to the previous year. Secondly, when more houses are constructing in a city, it will become difficult for the authorities to check that all the constructions are according to the standards. The consequences of not following proper standards will be more detrimental because it will lead us to a lot of sanitary problems. In other words, in harsh weather like winters in which more rains are expected, living in such areas will be very dangerous due to unsanitary conditions. For instance, in this winter due to heavy rains,70% of Karachi peoples were suffered because there were no proper drainage facilities available in their area. To conclude, I would like to reinstate that for more population new towns should be constructed to maintain the better living standards of cities.