Some believe that charitable organizations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people assert that charitable institutes should confine themselves to local area whereas others believe that they ought to act globally. I intend to mention both the views along with my opinion in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, those who favour the former view opine that local problems might be remained unresolved when humanitarian organisations increase their reach outside of the region. It is primarily due to the facts that local organisation are more aware of the gravity of the problem and much of their funds can be shared with other countries if they act globally. Thus, these organisations should focus on their own country so native people can get more benefit. On the other hand, proponents of the latter view assert that such organisations ought to concentrate all over the world as poor nations are generally deprived of such institutions. In other words, if many underdeveloped countries, especially African countries, remain devoid of help from other parts of the world, there is no point of making such philanthropic institutions in the first place. Helping such countries, a charitable organisation can play a wider role in eliminating problems around the world. For example, an international NGO Khalsa Aid provides assistance to the people affected from disastrous in any part of the world, thereby working on the basic principle of helping each and every person irrespective of locality. In my opinion, charitable organisations ought to take care of people around the world. This would certainly help to boost co-operation among the nations, thereby increasing harmony between different nations. Not only this, when any nation is severely affected by a catastrophic disaster, these global organisation can play a more vital role in that handicapped nation. For example, after the earthquake in Indonesia, the country was devastated. As local authorities and organisations are not in the position to help their own people, many international charitable institutes and countries helped in reviving this country. Thus, it can be concluded that the role of the organisation is more imperative in such scenarios. To encapsulate, even though local issues can be solved better by a local organisation, yet, in my perspective, these humanitarian organisations play a bigger role by eradicating global problems.