All children should be required to study at school by the age of eighteen. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often said that schooling is the gateway to a successful life. Hence it is argued that students ought to study in schools until the age of eighteen years. I completely agree with this view. The most important reason for making school education mandatory for all students is the potential professional opportunities it offers. This is because the majority of skilled jobs require a minimum level of learning, which could only be achieved if one stays in the academy till the age of eighteen. For instance, professional subjects like engineering, medicine, law and management cannot be learnt in primary school. Hence, it is necessary to stay in school for a longer period of time, if one wants to learn these skills. Of course, there are some students who are not good at academics and they may want to build a career in other fields which require vocational training. However, it is not necessary for them to drop out because most schools now impart vocational training as well along with core subjects. For example, a student who wants to become a carpenter can join the apprentice course and continue to learn his academic subjects. In other words, there is no need to drop out of the institution to obtain vocational skills. What’s more, high school education will make it easier for them to survive in the real world when they enter their adulthood. In conclusion, I firmly believe that schooling should be mandatory till the age of eighteen as it provides many future opportunities which cannot be ignored unless there are some specific benefits to dropping out.