Some people think that for individuals, planning for the future is a waste of time. It is more important for individuals to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue of whether individuals should plan for the future or focus on the present, I believe that individuals definitely must plan for the future due to the following reasons. Planning for the future has a wealth of benefits. To start off with, a future -oriented person possesses more clear objectives and incentives. It is a well-known fact that individuals who have goals know what they want, thereby having more certainty in life. The second benefit is planning for the future motivates the individual. As a matter of fact, most people’s motivation comes from their vision. Above all, planning for the future makes a person’s development more sustainable. Indeed, without a future plan, even successful people may feel disoriented and cannot understand why they want to be successful; as a result, they may not be able to enjoy their success. I recognise that focusing on the present can reduce distractions and temptations. This is reasonable to the extent that focusing on the present makes a person more organised. However, having said this, planning for the future is still not a waste of time because lack of future plans might result in irresponsible and unhealthy lifestyles. In conclusion, I would argue that designing a future plan is much more important than focusing on the present. Accordingly, it would be generally advisable for individuals to plan for their future first.