Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

Nowadays, children spend most of their time on smartphones. There are various reasons behind this, but the development of the Internet and technology act as the primary cause. Although this can develop various skills for children, I strongly argue that the harmful impacts outweigh the benefits. There are multiple reasons why kids are attached to their phones. Firstly, the development of the Internet and technology has led to the creation of various entertainment sources. It is true that nowadays, there are a number of apps and games, such as YouTube and Rhythm Hive, that provide children with the fun they need on a small device. These apps are designed to be so interesting, with an unlimited resource of pleasure that children find the real world plain and boring, thus forming a strong bond between themselves and electronics. Moreover, the busy life of today can also contribute to the connection of children with their smartphones. It is true that a majority of parents are so focused on working that they pay less attention to their kids, leaving their offspring with no choice but to be friends with their smartphones. Children ’s exposure to technology can benefit them to a certain extent, yet the drawbacks can have a greater impact. More time on the phone means less time for outdoor activities. This can lead to a number of health problems such as obesity and cardiovascular diseases. These health issues can heavily impact different aspects of children ’s lives, both mentally and physically. In conclusion, while exposure to smartphones can offer some benefits relating to skill development, its disadvantages are arguably more negatively impactful.