It is important for children to learn the difference between right or wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. Agree or Disagree?

It is necessary for teenagers to grasp the knowledge to differentiate between correct and not correct and punishment is important to master the skill. We disagree with the aforesaid statement and will present some relevant pointers to support in the below essay. To commence with, the most vital thing to achieve success in our life is to make the right choices. To master the skill of making right decisions we need to gain experience and that includes making wrong choices as well. Hence, we should support teenagers to make their own mistakes and learn from them to shape-up their personality. For example in a recently conducted experiment including toddlers, they were assigned a task to put some block of shapes in the box of the same shape. After a few failed attempts majority of them figured out the correct combinations. Therefore, we should let them choose the path of their choice instead of penalising them. Furthermore, Punishing kids would affect their personality and suppress their ability to express their views freely and communicate with others. It may force them to be introvert and shy which would visible in their academic performance and other areas. To illustrate this, in a recently published report by a group of psychiatrists where they conducted an experiment in which they allow some children to play freely whereas rest of them faced continuous nagging on every small mistake. The results show that the former group performed well and were confident in communicating while the later group under-performed. To conclude, punishing would not help in building the capability to differentiate between right and wrong in teenagers. Consequently, it may have a drastic effect on individual personality and mental status.