Many people prefer to use public transportation while others say that personal cars are the best mode of transportation. Excessive use of private cars is considered to be the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities and that's why the use of public transportation is encouraged. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of using public transport?

Nowadays, transportation plays a crucial role in countries' development. While, some individuals prefer to use their private cars, others enjoy commuting by public transportation. It is believed that excessive usage of private cars is responsible for increasing significant problems. In my opinion, public transportation has some advantages and drawbacks. On the one hand, commuting by public transportation is more beneficial. For example, it definitely has a lot of effects on reducing the consumption of fossil fuels leading to diminishing amounts of emissions and global warming. To illustrate, mass transportation transits many people in cities. If all these people tend to use private vehicles, it will increase traffic congestion. the traffic jam is one of the important factors to generate emissions so this is how public transportation benefits the environment. Moreover, it saves more time for commuters. For instance, in my country, Iran, some lanes are allocated to BRT BUS which is one of the means of transportation in my country. these buses have never stuck in traffic congestion which provides time saving for passengers. On the other hand, public transportation has a few demerits that should not be overlooked. The primary disadvantage is that it is not as convenient as a private car. To exemplify, commuters have their own space and privacy in private vehicles they can listen to their favourite music loudly. Private cars also provide safety and immunity for passengers. For example in emergency situations like COVID-19 they would be the best options for intercity In conclusion, although commuting by public transportation is worthwhile and provides us with significant benefits it has some drawbacks that should not be underestimated. I believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.