Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

In modern society, the highly debatable question is whether the capital sentence should have a place in the law. While some argue that capital punishment must be imposed for serious offenders, others believe that this kind of measure is an inappropriate one. The following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain why I think this option is not valid. To begin with, one nuance which contributes to the beneficial aspects of the death penalty is that it can potentially act as a deterrent for criminals. To put it differently, in case an offender understands what type of heavy punishment would be assigned to him, he would probably alter his attitude and plans, and consequently, it would help governments to fight with criminals. Moreover, the capital sentence can aid the police, as it will be a good instrument for them to make lawbreakers tell the truth. To illustrate this point, in a multitude of cases, criminals decided to provide the detailed information about their delinquent behaviour after the judge had assigned to them the capital punishment, so they were willing to help in order to reduce their penalty. On the other hand, the capital penalty is totally against humans' rights and the huge movement back to ancient rules and traditions. In other words, for many centuries, people have been trying to protect a human's life, and they abolished any rules or habits which could potentially harm a person, thus remaining of the death penalty in the law is destroying the effort which was put. As a case in point, a variety of countries put a moratorium on the capital sentence, as they decided that nobody can deprive someone of his life even for a severe offence. From my point of view, this movement has altered the consciousness of a million people regarding the value of a person's life and helped them to make a huge step towards the clear future. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with the social dilemma of the death sentence existence. While some people claim that this is the best approach to decrease the crime rate, and it is also a beneficial tool for the productive communication with offenders, I strongly believe that such a measure cannot be accepted by modern society as it violates humans' rights.