Exams are the best way of assessing a student’s level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Darwin's theory - Survival of the fittest came into existence with the observation that nature has bestowed all living beings with a few special skills of their own, these skills are of paramount importance in the race for survival and these skills are tested by mother nature from time to time. Similarly, this theory has been implemented in the human world in the way of exams, but the question arises, are exams an appropriate method of testing human skills or knowledge which will benefit the examinee in living a better life or help in the evolution of human beings. To better articulate the question of are exams the best way of assessing a student's level, one should first understand the process of an examination, it is usually taken after a stipulated time after the course has begun, a specific time is allotted to remember the course learnt and answer a few questions asked from the vast syllabus that would have been covered by the examiner. While at the face of it, it does seem like a decent enough methodology to test a human being, but if we dissect the method even a little we would a plethora of errors in this method. To start with exams are more of testing the memory and retention rate of a student than the actual test of his skills or learning. It doesn't test the implementation technique learnt by the student which will actually help the student in the real world while dealing with real problems. As exams are an activity which has a time constraint it can impact the recall rate of the student which is different for different students as proved by the Human Behaviour study done in Harvard Business school. Hence I believe that exams are not the best way to accessing a students level.