The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is quite common these days for everyone in many countries to get access to a variety of knowledge sources through the Internet. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, there are several reasons why free knowledge on the internet is beneficial. A common reason is that many people will have more chances to be educated. For example, according to 25% of students from Hoa Sen University in 2022, they learnt English through YouTube videos because they couldn’t afford to go to English classes. Another perk is that it is more convenient to study on computers or smartphones instead of going to campus. Furthermore, students don’t have to travel in order to study because they can take courses and classes from home and they are able to study anything they want on their electronic devices. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of having access to free knowledge from the internet that people should take into consideration. One obvious drawback is that not everything from the internet is true. An example of this is that according to a report from The Guardian, 15% of internet articles are fake news and considered unreliable. Another negative effect is that many creators such as authors and researchers may not make any profits since a lot of their products may get stolen and reuploaded without permission. In conclusion, getting knowledge from the internet could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.