In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

There is no doubt that formal education plays a prominent role in a child’s overall development. While some people believe that this should be starting at the age of four, others argue that this should start only when children are seven or eight years old. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and elucidate the reasons for my support for the former one. First and foremost, some parents might not be always able to guide their toddlers, when the kid is trying to learn about the outside world. This could be because of a myriad of reasons. For instance, a study conducted by a leading newspaper in India shows that more than 60% of the parents are not able to quench their child’s brain quest as they have to support their family. As a result, the little ones’ brain development might get impacted. In addition to this, the parents or grandparents might not be skilled enough to impart knowledge to their child. In contrast, when kids start their formal education at a younger age, it helps their brain development. They interact with other kids of their age. Also, the trained kindergarten teachers would be able to develop a child’s skills and guide them on playing and interacting in with a group. For example, studies conducted by some research institutes show that young brain development starts at four years, when it could start processing information. In conclusion, though some sections believe that giving child more time to play at home is going to help them, I strongly believe that they could do those activities in groups under trained supervision which would help them in the long run.