Prison is the common way in most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, few countries are facing challenges in putting criminals behind the bars as the crime rate has increased overwhelmingly whereas there are countries with almost empty prisons. Many law organizations and societies believe that imprisoning offenders is the only way to deal with illegal and unethical activities. I contend that education is a better way of dealing with the issue and this essay will shed light on valid standpoints for this argument. With imprisonment, one cannot be confident that the criminal has learnt the lesson and won't repeat the wrongdoings. Also, a criminal will be in the company of other criminals and may go further on the wrong path. A better way of solving the problem of crime can be by providing education to the public which can help them in leading an honest and ethical life. For example, some European countries like the Netherlands use different approaches of dealing with the crimes like rehabilitation of criminals, letting them continue with their daily lives along with keeping track of their activities through electronic devices, involving them in voluntary work and so on. In my opinion, imprisoning a person for his/her crime is a reactive way of dealing with the issue at hand. A more proactive approach will be to inculcate good values in children and providing citizens with enough opportunities to lead their lives in a better way. The government can also focus on understanding the root causes of crimes and have campaigns to educate the population and prevent them from going to the path of crime. Moreover, people should also make conscious efforts to observe their surroundings and curb illegal and unethical activities at the outset by helping each other learn just practices. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion that providing people with better education can help to eradicate the problem of crime and criminal mentality from its roots. However, prisons will still be needed to safeguard citizens from criminals but those should be used as a last resort to deal with the crime.