It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

A good habit of reading will benefit the rest of a child's life, but nowadays, fewer children enjoy reading worldwide. Morden technology, social daily activities and lack of role models often lead children to give up reading. In order to assist children in nurturing reading habit, children and parents should work together to establish this good habits by limiting the assess to modern gadgets, keeping track on social activities and establishing reading time in a household setting. Disturbance from modern gadgets such as smartphone, laptops and the Internet often leads children to give up reading. Unlimited screentime like playing video games, surfing online to watching videos and watching movies or television are more attractive to children than reading books. In addition, a variety of applications such as FaceBooks, Instagram and WeChat also consume children ' free time. Once they start to chat with their friends via social media, it is tough for them to nurture their reading habits. Tackling this situation and helping children to nurture a habit of reading relies on their parents ' supervision and limit their children screen time. For many children, their parents may focus on their social activities in local communities or register them to so many programs such as scientific camp, computer camps or dancing clubs. As a result, children may be burned out and do not have time to enjoy reading. For example, nowadays, Chinese parents in metropolitan regions always enrol their children to many after-school programs so that their children continue to learn various new skills. However, these parents ignore free time for their children who may enjoy reading. In order to mislead their children, parents should allow their children to choose a roper after-school program and leave some free time for their children so that they may have time to enjoy reading. Lack of role models also leads children to have trouble reading. In modern societies, many parents also enjoy watching television or surfing online, which also influence their children as well. In the past, without the influence of modern devices, one of the family activities after dinners was to read books for family union. However, fewer families currently have reading time, and the lack of role models who read books at home also misleads children not to read. Therefore, setting family reading time may help children to establish a reading habit. Undeniably, children in modern societies tend to have more disturbances that prevent them from establishing a reading habit due to that influence of modern devices, overwhelming daily activities and lack of role models at home. In order to help children to enjoy reading, limiting the access to modern gadgets, the roper amount of daily activities and family reading time at home would help children to establish reading habits and enjoy reading.