Technological development leads to lots of environmental issues. Some people think a simple life style can preserve environment while others argue that technology itself can solve it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge of experience

It has been an ongoing argument among people that developments in technology impact the environment negatively. Other people believe that we can fix the problems that arise from advancing technologically. This essay will discuss both opinions although, I am of the opinion that environmental issues can be fixed by using technology. Firstly, it is true that talks on climate change and ways to mitigate it were initiated because of our fast-developing technology. For instance, the quality of the air we breathe has greatly deteriorated in the last 100 years. Another example is global warming that has caused sea levels to rise precariously as a result of melting icebergs. It has also caused many plants and animal species to go extinct. Living an idyllic lifestyle would have certainly prevented all these and many more. On the other hand though, it is argued that all the negative effects we see today were always bound to happen. Technological advancements make it so that we are well equipped to deal with the drawbacks of our unending quest for improvement. For example, we now have chemicals that can be placed in the air to improve its quality. Furthermore, the feats that we have been able to gain in various areas are as a result of the new information we are exposed to from years of research. The quality of our lives have greatly improved because of technology and this makes the negatives worth it. In conclusion, for the greater good, we have had to have a decline in the environment, we have realized that we may be going too fast and we are currently employing knowledge we have because we have better machinery and science to improve it.