In most countries prisons are popular actions against people who do crime. However, educating people against crimes can be more effective solution. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Majority of countries are in favour that prison is the most effective solution for criminals, while others believe that providing education to them would be more beneficial. I personally partially agree with this notion, prison is the best solutions for hardcore criminals such as rapist and serial killer, however, for minor criminals like shoplifting and juvenile crime can be reduced by educating them. To begin with, criminals who commit serious crime should be sent to prisons. People who engaged in crimes such as serial killing, rapist, kidnapper and drug traffickers should be rewarded with hard sentences as these activities are not minor and these people have not righted to walk freely on streets. Educating them would be a waste of resources as they have enough experience in that, they enjoy these crimes and only do them for money. Therefore, by sending them to prison is the only prominent solution for the government to tackle this crime down. On the other hand, providing counselling and education assistance to criminals who commit minor crimes such as shoplifting, robbery and traffic rules violence could be decreased. These illegal activities emerged due to lack of education and proper parental supervision, such crimes might be alleviated if they can be noticed from an early age in children. For example, it has been noticed that if students are taught with self-discipline and self-esteem they are less likely to be involved in crimes. To conclude, culprits with dangerous activities should be sent to jails, however, other minor crimes could be mitigated with the help of parents and government awareness campaigns. From my perspective, these two types of criminals can be treated differently according to their crime and background credentials.